Day One: Don’t say the words “fat” or “ugly” today. They are not allowed.

“I look so fat!” 

“I’m so ugly!”

“Please don’t take my picture…I’m not pretty like you.”

“I’m going on a diet. Again. For the third time this week.”

 

Do any of these statements sound familiar? If they do, congratulations! You know what it means to finally be a woman! The sad truth is- these are common comments in the lives of women. So common, in fact, that you don’t even notice them when they are thrown out into the open for all to hear. “So what,” you may think. “Every woman thinks she’s fat. Not one woman I know thinks she’s pretty. And EVERY girl I know says she needs to lose weight. It’s just…normal.”

 

Exactly my point. It is NORMAL to talk to yourself like this. It is NORMAL to look in the mirror, comment on how hideous you look, and live the rest of your day controlled by those few words. It is NORMAL to not like yourself. So normal, in fact, that girls who do not say they are fat and ugly at least three times a day are just weird. 

 

So my challenge for myself today? I’m going to be weird. I will not let the words “fat” or “ugly” escape from my lips all day. I will not utter them about myself or anyone else. It’s going to be a wonderful, glorious, fat-less, ugly-less day. 

 

Verse for Change: “May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.” Psalm 19:14

 

**A note about the “God factor”: I know that not every person out there is a Christian. This challenge isn’t just for those of us who believe in God. It’s for every woman, everywhere. If the “God stuff” just isn’t your thing, focus on the challenge. However, I’ve been in your shoes and know from experience that there is really only one who can bring change. You decide what you want to do. In the meantime, I’m starting with Day One, leaving nothing out. 🙂 **


One thought on “Day One: Don’t say the words “fat” or “ugly” today. They are not allowed.

Leave a Reply

