Day Three: Do Something You Love

The mirror portrayed pictures of beautiful girls, dancing and spinning around the room as they waited for class to begin. Blonde and brunette intermingled with flashes of red, black, and shiny pink. Bags were piled against the wall, voices joined together in a sporadic symphony, fluorescent lights gleamed from the ceiling, portraying a washed out group of 4 year old girls. In the corner gathered a group of three, silently observing the carefree spirits in pink shoes. As the teacher walked in, bringing order into the mirrored room, the three slowly stepped in the group. This was not where they felt comfortable; this was not where they thought they belonged. Class began, and the dancing started. The room became a frenzy as girls spun around the room, perfectly content in working on their twirls rather than their hair. The mirror didn’t matter in this moment; all that mattered was that they were dancing and enjoying themselves. 

Except these three girls. As they spun, they watched the mirror. As they leapt across the room, they watched the other girls. As they sashayed across the floor, they wished they could look more like their counterparts than themselves. They were not focused on the dancing. They were only focused on what they looked like-and didn’t look like-as they partook in another activity that should have been enjoyable, but wasn’t. 

Have you ever felt like these three girls? I know I have. It’s so easy to get caught up in appearances that I often forget to enjoy the thing that I am supposed to be doing. Things that I used to love have been pushed to the wayside because I don’t LOOK good- or as good as someone else- doing them. So I settle with going through the motions, day after day, not enjoying anything for fear of “looking” bad. 

Yes, this did become a problem. When people would ask me what I liked to do, I did not have an answer to give them. Do? I didn’t do anything. Now, be on the other hand, THAT was something I could talk about all day. I knew who I wanted to be. I knew what I wanted to look like. I knew what made me happy: looking in the mirror and liking what I saw. As for what I enjoyed doing, however, I had no clue. 

So today I will do just that. I will enjoy an activity for the sake of enjoying it. I will go out there and do something I love doing, not because of what I look like doing it, but because it is something that makes me smile.

Verse: “There was a man all alone; he had neither son nor brother. There was no end to his toil, yet his eyes were not content with his wealth. For whom am I toiling,” he asked, “and why am I depriving myself of enjoyment?” This too is meaningless-a miserable business!” (Ecclesiastes 4:8)

Leave a Reply

