Day Eight: Question It

I know that today I will be faced with envy. I know that something today will cause me to look at myself and feel not good enough. I know that someone today will seem a lot prettier, smarter, or more talented than me. I know my tendency to compare, and I also know my tendency to let those thoughts sit in my head, waiting to take root and control my life. 

Today when I meet those things I wish I had, I will question the thoughts. Why do I want to look like her? What do I think will happen if I do look like her? Why do I want to be him? Why do I want something else? Do I think it will satisfy? 

Today is a day of questioning and examining my motives. In order to redefine beauty, we have to define our current definition and figure out why we continue to hold onto it. 

Verse: “Let us examine our ways and test them, and let us return to the Lord.” (Lamentations 3:40)

Leave a Reply

