Day Nine: Pick the Healthy

Health and Beauty. 

The two are usually paired together, but do they belong together? I’ve found over the course of my journey that they should not be paired. Each word represents two ideas; therefore, they should stand alone. Their pairing only confuses the minds of women. And here’s why:

When you think of health, what do you think? I think taking care of your body. I think of choosing to eat the fruit and vegetables when you really want that extra large slice of cake. I think of exercising for the allotted 45 minutes, no more and no less. I think of things that are beneficial to your body. 

Ok, so health is the good stuff. It’s the stuff that keeps you running, the stuff that gives you the stamina. Truth be told- it’s the stuff that you were meant to choose. 

When you think of beauty, what do you think? I think of cutting things out. I think of the models on the runway and the pictures in the magazine. I think of eating less, exercising more, and covering up all that should be exposed. I think of a photoshopped life. Basically, I think of things that do more harm than good. 

True beauty does not harm. True beauty allows you to rest in the healthy. It allows you to be you without having to manipulate to please the system. True beauty chooses what it knows is best instead of what it knows will harm. True beauty does not care what the picture looks like; it cares about living healthy and free. 

Healthy in the vocabulary of the eating disordered is taboo. Tell someone they look “healthy”, and brace yourself for an outslaught of emotions. It has a negative connotation because as women- we would rather be beautiful than healthy. 

Frankly- I think the definition has to change. It’s time to choose healthy instead of harmful. It’s time to choose health over false beauty. Healthy means being true to yourself. It means living the life God intended, not the life magazines flash before your eyes. 

Today I am choosing healthy. Today I am choosing the apple instead of the cake. Today I am redefining health for the good. 

Verse: “Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought with a price. Therefore, honor God with your body.” (1 Corinthians 6:19-20)

Leave a Reply

