Day Sixteen: Allow Surprises

“Happy birthday to you. Happy birthday to you…” 

I used to hate birthdays. Not just my birthday either; I hated everyone’s. Birthdays meant cake. Birthdays meant food that I had not planned for. Birthdays meant surprises. 

When you are stuck in the world of obsessing about food, no surprises are welcomed. Birthdays become torture. Parties become the enemy. Lunches out with friends become things to avoid. 

And the thoughts inside your head become more and more destructive. 

As you are presented with the piece of cake, your mind starts churning 80 miles an hour. The little square piece of flour and sugar turns into a calorie-laden monster that you can’t seem to get rid of. “Will anyone notice if I don’t eat it?”, you think to yourself. “This was so not on today’s food forecast…”

And so the obsession starts. Your day is ruined by one surprising little piece of cake. 

Today it may not be a birthday. Maybe it’s an invitation to lunch with a group of friends. Maybe it’s a homemade meal by someone you love. Maybe it’s not food at all. Maybe it’s an interruption in your schedule. Maybe it’s an obstacle to getting to the gym for your “needed” work-out. Maybe it’s a person who needs your help as you are on your way to “do something else”. 

Whatever it is, allow the surprise. Welcome the detour. Beauty is not always about looking good. Sometimes it is taking life as it comes and not having your day ruined because of it. Beauty is flexible. It welcomes surprises, expects them even. To be beautiful today means to allow the changes to shake up your world. 

Today I am being intentional about surprises. I’m welcoming them, even looking for them. I realized this morning as I looked into my mirror that the image is not what makes me beautiful. What makes me beautiful is the fact that I love someone enough to let them “interrupt” my plans. 

And I don’t walk away muttering under my breath. 

Verse: “Do everything without complaining or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, children of God without fault in a crooked and depraved generation, in which you shine like stars in the universe, as you hold out the word of life-in order that I may boast on the day of Christ that I did not run or labor for nothing.” (Philippians 2:14-16)

One thought on “Day Sixteen: Allow Surprises

  1. Hi Alexis,

    I’m Debra Weiss. I’m currently a columnist for Real Teen Faith. I found your site through a comment you left on Lysa TerKeurst’s blog. I browsed through your site and I love the message of hope you’re sharing with women. Would you be interested in sharing that message with teen girls?

    I’ve been thinking of running a series about the freedom that comes when we allow ourselves to acknowledge the truth. I’d love to interview you for the series.

    You can email me at debra@debraweiss.net if you’re interested.

    Your Sister in Christ,

    Debra

Leave a Reply

