Day Twenty-One: Trust Truth

I have to admit, I didn’t start out the day challenging myself. I didn’t even give the idea of beauty much thought (which I thought an accomplishment at the time). But then life hit me in the face, and I was CHALLENGED. 

It wasn’t me writing down a challenge today. Nope- it was God throwing me into a situation and saying “Here’s your challenge.” And boy- was I unprepared! 

It’s easy to say you trust truth when you aren’t going through a challenging situation. It’s easy for me to say I believe God when everything is going well. It’s easy for me to set daily challenges when I feel like they are things I can manage. But what about the challenges that seem impossible to conquer on my own? 

That’s hard stuff. 

Like sitting in a class with people you should have gotten to know by now, but haven’t. Like sitting in thoughts of insecurity. Like feeling as if God made some grave mistake when He created you. Like thinking that you will never measure up. 

It’s easy to know how to react outside of the situation, but what about in the situation? Personally, I get overwhelmed. I sit in the thoughts. I give into the lies. 

And I forget the truth. 

What is truth? Truth is knowing without a doubt that I am loved (Romans 5:8). Truth is knowing God knew what He was doing when He created me (Jeremiah 1:5). Truth is knowing that my personality, body, and life are created by God and seen as just right (Psalm 139). Truth is knowing that His grace is sufficient in our weakness (2 Corinthians 12:8), so we don’t have to have it all together all the time. Truth is trusting in Him and leaning on Him to guide us through the challenges of life. 

So what is Beauty? What does it mean to be beautiful today? Beauty is trusting the truth when the lies assault you from all angles. Beauty is clinging to His word when the voices in your head clamor for your attention. Beauty is truth and truth, beauty. 

Verse: “For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are- yet was without sin.” (Hebrews 4: 15)

Leave a Reply

