Day Twenty Four: Be Flexible Enough to Allow Change

Ok, so I have a problem. It’s called stubbornness. Or “set in my ways”. Or, if you want to hit the nail right on the head, you would call it “hates it when people get in the way of her routine”. 

Yep- that’s me. Good ‘ole grandma whose morning is not SUPPOSED to be interrupted. 

Lately, though, God must be trying to get my attention because NOTHING has gone according to routine. I wish I could say that I have handled  it gracefully…but I haven’t. I wish I could tell you that I adjusted right away…but I didn’t. I wish I could pretend that none of it bothers me…but it does. 

Here’s the thing about change: some of it I like, some of it I don’t. The kind that I like is the kind that I choose to happen. The rest is, well, evil. 

With that said, what would life be like without change? What would we be like if we refused to do anything uncomfortable? For one, nothing would ever get better. We would sit around complaining about life, but no one would make the move to fix it because it would be uncomfortable. Hard. Bothersome. 

If I refused to change, I would not be where I am today. If I refused to change my habits, I would still be stuck in my addictions. If I refused to believe a different truth, I would still be living by the lies. If I refused to let God shake up my life a little bit, I would still be stuck in the pit, complaining and whining. 

But I did change. I did take that step. And as a result, my life is Beautiful. Perfect?  No. Beautiful? Yes. 

It’s beautiful because all that muck is gone, and now I can actually see through the water. It’s beautiful because the darkness has faded away and let the light shine in. It’s beautiful because it’s a life a truth, not lies. 

Beauty is not possible without a little change. To get out of your addictions, you have to take that first step. Freedom won’t just fall into your lap. The lies will not simply go away. You have to choose to change. You have to challenge the thoughts. You have to choose not to do some things. You have to change the meaning of beautiful and replace it with truth. 

Today I am going to be flexible enough to allow change. I am going to rely on God instead of relying on the anger that makes itself readily available. Am I perfect? No. Will I meet every trial with grace? Probably not. But I can try. I can continue looking to the one who can change my heart so beauty shines through instead of all the other negative muck. 

Verse: “My dear brothers, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, for man’s anger does not bring about the righteous life that God desires.” (James 1: 19-20)

Leave a Reply

