Day Twenty-Nine: Refute the Lie

I haven’t sat down and watched normal television in forever. I haven’t seen the new commercials, new shows, or new movies. 

I got a glimpse of the “new” last night, and -let me tell ya- I did not like what I saw. 

As I flipped through the channels looking for something decent to watch, I came across the new Cover Girl make-up commercial. If you are a frequent TV watcher, I am sure you know the one I am talking about. Ellen Degeneres (the new spokesperson for Cover Girl I presume) made a comment that really caught my attention: “Inner beauty is important, but not nearly as important as outer beauty“. 

Now, I know that the whole purpose of the commercial is to get women to buy a product. I know that the media is all about selling an image. But really?! Is this the kind of message we want younger girls receiving? It’s a commercial, I know, but it is so much more. 

It is the heartbeat of our culture. Everywhere we look, the importance of outer beauty is thrown in our faces and inner beauty is dismissed for “what’s now”. Every time we give into the lie, we are giving the media the strings to control our lives. 

Can we take them back? Yes. 

How? We can refute the lie. 

In order to redefine beauty, you have to go against the current definition. You have to refuse to let the media pull your strings. Don’t buy the product if the way they sell it is demeaning. Don’t watch the show if they are broadcasting an unhealthy image. Don’t buy the magazines. Don’t read the books. Don’t accept the lie. 

Redefining beauty is fighting against what beauty means today. It means speaking out and proclaiming the truth. It means placing importance on “inner beauty”. 

Today’s challenge is to refute the lie. The lie will be thrown in your face all day today. What is the lie you cling so desperately to? How are you going to refute that today? Join me in proclaiming the truth about beauty today by refusing to take the lies. 

It doesn’t have to be this way…so why don’t we change it? If you want to more actively change the definition, you can start by taking this quick survey for ChangeBeauty.org (launching in October!). 

Verse: “They exchanged the truth of God for a lie, and worshiped and served created things rather than the Creator…” (Romans 1:25) Don’t let this be you today. The truth is so much better than the lie; it’s time to make the exchange.

3 thoughts on “Day Twenty-Nine: Refute the Lie

    • Whether she was being sarcastic or not isn’t the point. It’s a message the beauty industry wants to get across, and it is in no way truth. My post is not against Ellen in anyway, just the message behind the commercial. As long as we accept the messages, positive changes won’t be made. I know that they are trying to sell a product, but as long as we “just accept” the statements, we are only reinforcing the lie.

Leave a Reply

