Day Thirty-Eight: Get Rid of the Green Monster

There are days I am a little green in color. There are days my face resembles Kermit the Frog more than the picture you see of me. There are days my life is filled to the brink with a lovely little word called envy.

Ever heard of it? Ever experienced it? If you haven’t, let me know because I want some lessons from you!

The truth is, envy goes hand in hand with our beauty culture. The billboard of the new gorgeous (photoshopped!) model is supposed to make us jealous…that’s how they get us to buy the product. If they displayed pictures of normal women like you and me, would you be as likely to buy the product?

Probably not, for there would most likely be no competition there. We buy what they are selling because we feel threatened if we don’t look like the model.

But let’s push the beauty industry aside for a moment and focus on the day-to-day “stuff”. Is there any envy there? Are you envious of the way a friend looks? Are you envious of another women’s life, wishing that you could “walk in her shoes”? Is envy seeping out the corners of your plastered on smile?

Envy seeps out of mine.

There are times (many times, in fact) that I give in to the envy. I entertain the thought. I let the desire to look like someone else (or be someone else) linger. I let envy take over, and my life is quickly affected. 

Envy is not a slow parasite. It is immediate. It is brutal. It is destructive.

And it is not something to be messed with.

My challenge for myself today is this: meet envy with love. Instead of giving into the feelings of “I’m not good enough because I don’t look like her”, I will give into love. Instead of seething with jealousy and letting it destroy my day, I will be thankful for the beauty (and success) of someone else. Instead of praying and asking “Why not me, God?”, I will say a prayer thanking Him for that person. 

Love destroys envy.

Don’t let envy ruin your day today. Maybe you won’t be envious of another woman’s looks today. Maybe it is something else that passes along the envy bug. Maybe you are jealous of someone else’s success. Maybe you want the attention someone else seems to constantly receive. Maybe you want the car, the house, the clothes, the income of that one lady. Maybe you’re like me, and you seem to want everything you don’t have! 

When envy sparks today, extinguish it with love. Don’t let it linger. Don’t fan the flame. Protect yourself (and your life) by showering a little love on that person today.

Verse: “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.” (1 Corinthians 13:4-7)

I would love to hear your thoughts on envy today. If you feel so compelled, leave a comment and share how you combat envy. We could all use some help in this area!

Leave a Reply

