Day Forty-Three: Let Go of the Raft

I am making a big change today: I am cutting my hair. 

I know, I know. For some this may not be a big change, but for me-it is huge. For about a year I have held on tight to the dead cells atop my head, and it’s time to let them go. 

For beauty’s sake. 

Here’s the thing: beauty ceases to be beauty when you have to hold on tight to keep it. When you have to cling so desperately to something in order to feel beautiful, you have lost the true definition of beauty. Beauty should never be something you fear losing. The minute your beauty becomes dependent on a certain physical characteristic is the minute beauty becomes disproportionate in your life. 

For me, that minute happened about a year ago. And let me tell you, I have stretched out that minute to encompass a LONG period of time. What should have been a passing minute turned into a stationary minute. What should have been a passing thought turned into a stationary thought. What should have been a definition of beauty thrown down turned into a definition that was picked up, stowed away, and lived by. 

We all do it. We all cling to a certain aspect of beauty, whether you realize it or not. Some women refuse to go anywhere without a pair of heels on their feet…the heels make them feel beautiful. Some women refuse to face the public without the armory of lipstick…the safety of the color makes them feel beautiful. Some girls refuse to change the size of their clothes…the number makes them feel beautiful. Still more girls cling to the numbers on the scale….the dropping digits make them feel beautiful. 

Me? I cling to my hair. 

So it’s time to cut it off. 

It sounds a little drastic, I know. But hear me out on this one. I have kept my hair long for fear of losing beauty. People have told me that long hair is beautiful; therefore, I in turn took that to mean I am only beautiful with long hair. So I clung. I clung to someone else’s definition of beauty instead of my own. I was scared that losing my hair meant losing beauty. 

That’s not the truth. 

The truth is, you can’t lose beauty. Not true beauty. Beauty is so much more than the length of hair, the shade of lipstick, or the size of your jeans. Beauty is that heartbeat that makes you unique. Beauty is the characteristic underneath the make-up, not the make-up. Beauty is not meant to be clung to, for the moment you cling to it is the moment it ceases to be beautiful. 

Today’s challenge is to let go of the characteristic you hold onto. Let go of the fear that you will be- dare I say the word?- ugly without that life support raft. 

I promise you won’t be. You’ll just be one step closer to the true meaning of beauty. 

Verse: “Your beauty should not come from the outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes. Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.” (1 Peter 3:3-4)

2 thoughts on “Day Forty-Three: Let Go of the Raft

  1. That is so true how we cling to things that make us feel beautiful!
    I know I love my nails, but I find that I have begun obcessing about them way too much! So the other day, i cut them. The nails that I spent 5 months growing and shaping perfect, I cut! And when I did, it felt like a burden was lifted!
    So I know exactly what you mean!!

    Your sister in Christ
    Alesia

  2. That was an amazing thing to read. I also recently did the same thing (new hair cut in years!). I have a haircut that actually complements me rather than lets me hid or be invisible!

Leave a Reply

