Day Forty-Four: You Have to Believe in the Change

One of the biggest hurdles to change is unbelief. Unbelief that things will change. Unbelief that things can change. And unbelief that you can change them. 

Ever struggled with that? 

I know I have. In fact, I continue to run into unbelief as I make efforts to change. I will never forget a particular conversation I had with a woman a couple of months ago. After I finished telling her about my passions to change “beauty”, she looked at me and said, “I think that’s a great dream, but do you really think things will change?”

Her unbelief shook me. 

I started doubting myself. Questions started plagued my mind. What can I, a 19 year old girl, do to help change the definition of beauty and see women live in freedom? Am I crazy? Am I just an unrealistic dreamer? Am I expecting too much? Should I quit while I am ahead? 

Those questions tend to scream the loudest when I meet someone who doesn’t believe in change. Those questions terrorize my mind until I run to God. And there, at His feet, I find truth. 

Believe. 

In order to change, you have to believe that things will change. In order to find freedom, you have to have faith that freedom exists. If I had not believed that God could free me from the chains of my eating disorder, I would not have tried to get better. If I did not have faith that God could free me from the shackles of depression, I would have given up. 

But I did believe, and because of my belief I stand here free, ready to instigate change. 

Martin Luther King, Jr. believed in change so greatly that change happened. His passion spread like a wildfire. People caught his vision and ran with it. Change happened because of one man’s unwavering belief. 

Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton believed in change for women so passionately that change happened. Their dedication to a cause that was often ignored and ridiculed eventually paved the path to women’s rights. People caught on to the hope and dreamed of a better life. Change happened because those two women refused to give up. 

Do you believe in change? Do you believe that you can live free? Do you believe that the world around us can change? Do you believe that God will do what He says He will do? 

Belief directs change. Belief supports change. Belief leads to change. 

Today’s challenge is to believe. Have faith that change will happen. Believe in the vision you see in your life. Believe that God will make it happen. Freedom is possible. Change is possible.

As long as you just believe. 

Verse: “Don’t be afraid; just believe.” (Mark 5:36)- Make sure you take the time to read this passage later…what amazing faith this ruler had!

Leave a Reply

