Day Forty-Nine: Choose Who You Will Serve

You know, my life is not much different from that of the Israelites. It’s easy to look back on their decisions and think, “What were they thinking??”. They followed great leaders (Moses, Joshua, David). They witnessed outstanding miracles of God. They had the Promised Land within their grasp…and they chose to worship a false god?

Then God shows me my own life, and I realize I could easily fit into the pages of the Israelites blunders. How many times have I turned aside from the one true God in order to worship many fake gods? How many times have I placed beauty on the pedestal and cast God to the ground? 

Too many times to count. 

The truth is- I am in the same boat as the Israelites. I trust God for awhile, then find something else to trust in. Something I can see. Something I can predict. Something that can work for me. 

It starts out well (as well as any relationship with something unreal can start). I reap the benefits of serving what I can see. Beauty comes little by little. Attention comes periodically. Purpose comes and goes as it pleases. 

But nothing lasts. These “gods” cannot give us what we are looking for because they were never meant to sustain us. They are fake. Unreal. Lies. 

When we get to the end of them, we each have a choice to make: will I continue to flight toward one god, then another, or will I finally give up control and serve the one true God? 

It’s a choice. And like the Israelites, you will probably go back and forth in that decision. 

It doesn’t have to be that way though. You don’t have to give into the laws of beauty. You don’t have to bow down to the god of thinness. You don’t have to serve the gods of this world: wealth, success, beauty, fame, control, comfort… Whatever your god is today, you can make the choice to serve one that is TRUE, POWERFUL, and REAL. 

Joshua was a boy who knew who his God was. He know who the one true God was, and he followed him. He urged the Israelites to finally choose. He urged them to make up their minds. He urged them to stop going back and forth and to finally make a decision. 

And he’s urging us today. He’s challenging you and me to decide. Will you serve what you can see, in all of its limited ability? Or will you let go of control and look to what is true? 

Only you can make that choice. Only you can choose to discard the god you hold onto, and turn to the real deal. 

Only you. 

Verse: “Now fear the Lord and serve him with all faithfulness. Throw away the gods your forefathers worshipped beyond the River and in Egypt, and serve the Lord. But if serving the LORD seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your forefathers served beyond the River, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living. But as for me and my household, we will serve the Lord.” (Joshua 24:14-15)

Leave a Reply

