Day Fifty-Six: Where Does Your Worth Come From?

A few years ago, I was asked a question that has kept me thinking to this day: “Where does your worth come from?” At the time my answer was automatic: beauty. “I am only worthy when I am beautiful.” Then, in response to my oh-so-brilliant answer, I was asked: “So do you think you are worth anything?” 

My second brilliant answer? “Obviously not; I’m not beautiful.” 

And that, my friends, is where so many of us get stuck. Somehow, somewhere we learned that our worth is contingent upon our beauty, our appearance, our “good qualities”. That’s why envy so easily moves in. We’re threatened by another’s said “worth”. If they are worthy, we think, then we are not. 

Can I let you in on something? Your worth does not come from your beauty. Or your weight. Or your ability to be the perfect mom, daughter, employee…

Your worth comes from someone on the outside. It comes from something that is unchangeable, irrevocable, and ever-present. Your worth comes from your acceptance in Jesus Christ. It’s only in Him that we have any worth at all. For that reason, beauty will never satisfy. Perfection will never seem perfect enough. Your “self-worth” will be  a constant attempt to “be good enough” moment by moment. When your worth comes from something other than Christ, you are always fearful of losing it. 

And your life is overtaken by the pursuit. 

We can change that, though. You don’t have to live constantly pursuing worth. You can live resting in the full knowledge of the one WHO IS. All it takes is a change in belief.

We can believe something for so long that when we are presented with the opportunity to change we don’t take it. I can tell you that you are worthy because of Christ in you, but you can still leave here believing that your worth comes from your beauty (or whatever else you slap the definition onto). It really is a choice. 

Today I am challenging my “worth”. When I feel insecure because I don’t feel pretty enough or thin enough, I will challenge it with truth: “There is no condemnation for those who are in Jesus Christ.” When I feel threatened by someone else’s perceived worth, I will remember that I am “accepted in the Beloved”. When I am challenged at all angles by ideas that want to latch onto my worth, I will live as Jesus lived in the desert of temptation: “It is written.” 

I know where my worth comes from, and it has nothing to do with me; it has everything to do with Him. 

Verse: “…from the beginning God chose you to be saved through the sanctifying work of the Spirit and through belief in the truth.” (2 Thessalonians 2:13)

Leave a Reply

