Facing Peace

When you think of beautiful, do images of scorn and stress-contorted faces come to your mind? Do you look at stress-frazzled women and think, “Wow… she’s beautiful” ? 

I didn’t think so. 

See, peace is exactly that: peace. There is no stress in peace. There is no anger. There is just peace. Plain and simple and oh-so-hard-to-find peace. 

So, what is peace? 

Peace is your position in the storms of life. Peace is sitting in the midst of chaos and not being affected by the waves of worry and doubt. Peace is living with the knowledge that everything is going to be alright. Peace is such a God thing. It is often the stance that gets you through life’s toughest storms. When you feel like your world is falling apart because you have no friends and feel like no one understands you & your situation, pray for peace. When the diagnosis comes in and your first instinct is to run out the door and scream at the God who allowed this to happen, pray for peace. When the next step in front of you seems a little too far off and a little too unstable, pray for peace. When you can’t seem to get past that image in the mirror, pray for peace. 

Peace will get you through; it is God’s way of whispering reassurance to your heart. 

I am entering a season of uncertainty. As I look at the immediate future, my first instinct is to freak out and try to “manage” on my own. I’m not an automatic “trust God” Christian… more often than not I am a “trust me” Christian. I plan and worry and stress, but it all amounts to nothing in the end. Life happens. God intervenes in the midst of our best plans in order to bring about His greater plan. When He wreaks havoc out of our carefully plotted life, we have one of two options: we can have peace or we cannot. 

It really is that simple. 

In John, Jesus leaves us with a promise: “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. I do not give to you as the worlds gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” (John 14:27)

Jesus leaves us peace. All the time. In every circumstance. He never takes it away, but we can refuse to take it. We can choose to worry and stress instead of take His peace, but what good does that do us? Stress leaves us vulnerable to more stress; peace only leaves us with more peace. 

From now on, I am refusing to be the lady with the frazzled hair and the rigid face. I’m taking Christ’s offering of peace and running with it through the harsh winds that are headed my way. Will I be the perfect peaceful Christian? Absolutely not. 

But I will trust in the beauty of Christ’s promise and live an un-frazzled life. 

 

Leave a Reply

