Day Sixty: Oh no- the P word!

First of all, I can’t believe I’m already on day sixty of this challenge. This has been such a growing experience, and I am just blown away by the things God is doing! I know He is working on so much more, and I can’t wait to share it all with you. 

Now back to inner beauty. 

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.” (Galatians 5:22-23

Oh patience. I can honestly say that is not a word that frequents my vocabulary (or my life, for that matter). By nature, I am an impatient person. I choose the shortest line at the grocery store. I drive fast so I can get to my destinations sooner rather than later. I even throw my shoes in the middle of my bedroom floor rather than take the time to put them in the closet (which-by the way-is only five steps away!)

Yep, patience is not my thing. It should be my thing, though. If inner beauty is any indication of true beauty (which it is), then I still have a looonnnggg way to go. Which brings me back to patience. 

Patience is not just enduring the wait; it is sitting in the wait and not even complaining. It is being the only happy person in the five hour line at DPS. It is smiling at the store clerk on your Christmas Eve shopping escapade. It is waiting and not complaining, stressing, or hurrying the process. 

God is working on the patience factor within my own life. When I went to the She Speaks conference in July, I knew I might have to wait. I knew that the publishing industry takes forever. I knew that agents and publishers don’t make immediate decisions. The dreamer in me, however, thought I was above waiting. The dreamer in me clung to the hope that I would walk into that room and leave with a book contract. The dreamer in me expected to wait the shortest amount time possible. 

The reality is- I’m still waiting. Two months later, my patience is wearing thin. The impatient person in me wants a decision now, and she doesn’t even care if it’s acceptance or rejection. She’s just tired of waiting. 

Patience, my friend, is a virtue. It builds, refines, and hones in beauty on the most imperfect places of my life. 

Today is a patience day. It’s a “wait in the longest line without getting ugly” day. It’s an “ok God, whatever you think is best” day. It’s a day of waiting. Waiting for what? I don’t know. 

Just have patience.

Leave a Reply

