Day Sixty-Two: Sticking Like Glue

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.” (Galatians 5:22-23)

If I could use any word to describe our society today, I can promise you this: it would not be “faithful”. Wishy-washy, maybe. Hit-and-miss, probably. But faithful? No. 

We don’t know how to stick by each other, and to be honest- that makes us very ugly people to be around. 

I noticed the other day that I haven’t been a very good “long term” person. You know those people who have been best friends since the age of “in the womb”? 

Yeah, not me. 

I’m more of a year by year kind of friend. I’ve started mimicking the society around me instead of practicing that all important quality of faithfulness, which could set me up for a lot of failure in the future. 

Not to mention a lack of depth. 

I love the verse that says “if we are faithless, he will remain faithful, for he cannot disown himself” (2 Timothy 2:13). Even while we were still stuck in our own slime pits, Christ remained faithful to us. He died on the cross while we were still sinners. He stuck by us until the end. So shouldn’t we do the same? 

This year has been a year of change. I’ve started sticking by those people I love. I’m dedicated to my causes. I follow through with my plans (ok- for the most part). 

I’m putting the stick back into my tape. 

Today the challenge is to stick by your friends, your causes, your plans, your God. Don’t abandon things because they get too uncomfortable, boring, or hard. Stick like glue. Be faithful. 

If I can learn to do it, so can you.

Leave a Reply

