Day Sixty-Three: Are Those Gentle Words?

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.” (Galatians 5:22-23)

This could not come on a better day. This morning as I was catching up on the news of the world, I came across an interesting post from the True Campaign : 

“Fox, Burger King apologize for making fun of Jessica Simpson’s weight: http://content.usatoday.com/communities/thehuddle/post/2009/10/fox-burger-king-apologize-for-cowboys-cartoon-skit-mocking-jessica-simpsons-weight/1 ”

I wish I could say comments like this were uncommon. 

They’re not. 

And it’s not just the media who are the culprits in this game. It’s the kids in your class at school. It’s the people you run into at the mall. It’s one of your best friends. 

It may even be you. 

Do you know what gentleness means in the context of Galatians 5:22-23? It comes from the Greek word Chrestotes, meaning “moral goodness, integrity; benignity, kindness”. 

So… gentleness is the expression of kindness. It is the word unsaid. It’s being gentle with your words, your actions, and your life. It’s having integrity in all the things that you say, and I’ll even go so far as to say it’s having the same integrity in your thoughts. 

Gentleness is a life-style that is developed, and gentleness is the evidence of God in all that you do. 

The world today is not a gentle place. It is not morally good. It certainly does not uphold integrity. It does not tolerate others, and it is typically not kind. 

You will not find gentleness in the world, but you will find gentleness in God. 

And through His gentle words, you can develop a characteristic that is so needed today in a world full of hate: gentleness. 

I’m practicing gentleness today. By guarding my thoughts, I can uphold a quality of gentleness. When I really want to think of say something bad about someone, I think about their life and circumstances. I ask myself, “If I were that person, would I be acting the same way?” The answer is almost always “Probably”.

No-I don’t put myself in the other person’s shoes all the time, but I should. I guess that just goes to show that I, too, still have a lot of growing to do when it comes to this little piece of fruit. 

Practice gentleness today, and I promise you will reap the benefits tomorrow. Gentleness is what makes you a beautiful person, and make-up will never be able to give you the same glow as a “gentle and quiet spirit”. 

Join me in pursuing gentleness. Join me in becoming that truly beautiful woman. Join me in practicing gentleness with the man standing in line behind you who just won’t shut up

He may not be shutting his mouth, but we can always shut ours. 

Verse: “Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes. Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.” (1 Peter 3:3-4)

Leave a Reply

