Day Seventy: Work on Your Weakness

I’ve been out of town for the past week, so forgive me for the few days I missed. You won’t want to miss these last few days of the challenge though… I’ve learned a lot about myself and beauty over the past week that I want to share with you.

I am a creature of habit.

I like to do the same things, go to the same places, watch the same shows, read the same books, and- apparently- eat the same foods.

Normally habits are good things. It’s good to have a schedule. It’s good to have a plan. It’s good to have something that you can count on in the midst of chaos.

But it’s bad when those habits create chaos in your mind when you’re challenged with an interruption.

This past week has been filled with interruptions, and although I handled them well, my mind has been on overload. I’m thinking about the changes I need to make, the thought patterns I need to challenge, and the so many ways I am different from everyone around me.

Really, I’m thinking about how much progress I still have to make, and how imperfect I still am.

It’s comfortable to live believing you have arrived. It’s easy to let yourself think that you have nothing else to work on. It’s nice to pretend that you are perfect and all imperfection is in the past.

That’s how I have been living.

Somewhere, somehow I started believing that I didn’t have anything else to work on. I believed that freedom translated to perfection.

I was wrong.

Freedom is not perfection. In fact, freedom is anything but perfection. In his letter to the Galatians, Paul writes, “It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery” (Galatians 5:1).

Freedom is taking the stance of getting ready for battle. It is walking in the knowledge that a challenge is coming. It is being prepared for the storm.

Christ may have set me free from my eating disorder, but Satan still tries to tie the ropes once again. He knows my weaknesses. He knows the ideas I still cling to. He knows how much certain things still freak me out.

And he uses those things. He flings those arrows and shoots that gun. He attacks when I am least expecting, most expecting, and completely unaware. All ground is fair ground to him.

Oh, but freedom.

Christ set us free so we would no longer be bound to Satan’s chains. He set us free so we can fight for the ground we have lost. He set us free, and He expects us to fight for our freedom. He expects us to “stand firm” and refuse to become slaves once more.

Freedom is not a one-time thing. It is an everyday, all day, for the rest of your life battle.

It is so worth it, though.

Today’s challenge is to work on your weakness. Work on the arrow that Satan flings at you the most. Work on that thought that constantly invades your mind. Work on your weakness so that you stay free from the chains of slavery.

I’ll just be honest: I realized I still have a lot of weaknesses. This past week showed me that I do not always look at food normally. When I am faced with eating out day in and day out, my mind can get a little chaotic. I tend to choose the safest food. I tend to obsess over my choices all day long. I tend to eat not-so-normal.

Some people wouldn’t see a problem with this. Some people would just see it as eating healthy. Some people may look at the way I eat and think it is perfectly acceptable.

But I know the truth for me, and it’s not. It’s not okay for me to battle food choices in my mind for more than five minutes. It’s not okay for me to constantly remember everything I’ve eaten over the past week. It’s not okay for me to sit and ponder over the calorie content of everything I have eaten and have yet to eat.

It’s not okay, and it’s not normal.

See, I may not struggle with my eating disorder anymore, but Satan still shoots the arrows. He knows that if I live my life ignoring these weaknesses, I will fall back into the prison.

So I am choosing to work on those weaknesses instead of living with them. I know that thoughts turn into actions, and I refuse to go there again.

Your weakness may not have anything to do with food, but you do have a weakness. I encourage you to work on it. Don’t ignore it. Don’t let it grow until it becomes to big to handle.

Challenge the thought today so your actions don’t conform to it tomorrow.

Verse: “For though we live in the world, we do not wage war as the world does. The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds. We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” (2 Corinthians 10:3-5)

Leave a Reply

