Day Seventy-Two: Be Thankful

It’s easy to complain about what we are not. It’s easy to sit in silence and brood over someone else’s life. It’s easy to think on all the ways we fall short. It’s easy to compare our lives to someone else’s. And it’s even easier to believe someone else’s life is better based on appearances. 

Lately I’ve been thinking about all the things I wish I had. I find myself comparing everything in my life to someone else. My writing, my looks, my lifestyle, my personality, and my abilities all seem to fall short in the light of someone else’s. And the more I think about these so-called “faults” of mine, the more I wish I could be somebody else. 

It’s a nasty cycle, really. 

I know I’m not the only one stuck in this trap of wanting more and wanting to be more. It’s not just an Alexis thing; I’m pretty sure it’s an everybody thing. I’m pretty sure it’s a daily struggle for all of us. It’s a struggle that crosses all barriers and fits into all corners of life. It’s so much more than beauty. It’s so much more than material things. It’s whatever, at the moment, makes you feel like you’re less of a person. 

It’s the thing that seems to make or break you. 

As I sat and thought about all the ways I fail in my eyes, God opened the door to the truth He wanted me to see. Yes, I may not be People magazine’s #1 Most Beautiful. And yes, I may not write like this writer or have a book published like that writer. And yes, I may not have her personality or his abilities. 

But I do have my own gifts. I do have my own beautiful life. And for that I should be thankful. 

I have things for which to be thankful. I have an amazing family. I have a good job. All of my needs are taken care of. I am able to move and jump and dance and spin without having to think twice. I am able to read and write.

Yes, I have so much to be thankful for. 

It’s easy to take our blessings for granted. It’s easy to sit and complain about what we don’t have. But it takes a strong person to push aside the convenient thoughts in pursuit of thankfulness. 

There are a lot of people in the world who can’t do the things you can do. There are children who would give anything to have a family. There are girls who cry every night because they can’t do the things someone else can naturally do. There are women with diseases that stick them in bed and make them feel worthless. There is always someone who has less than you. 

So today, be thankful. Be thankful for what you do have and push aside the plaguing thoughts telling you how you don’t measure up. Be thankful for wherever you are in life today and remember to bless someone who has less. A kind word can go such a long way. A meal can carry someone through the week. A friendship can change a person’s life. 

Be thankful because God has given us so much more than we ever deserved. 

Verse: “Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18)

Leave a Reply

