Day Seventy-Three: It’s Not About Me, and It’s Not About You

I have to admit, I have been “me centered” lately. As life as I know it unravels under my feet, I have a tendency to cling to how it affects me and my happiness. 

Lucky for me, God is 100% against my “me centered” thinking, and He has been throwing big curve balls to redirect me to the path He intended for me all along.

Here is the whole essence of the Gospel: It’s all about Jesus. From the beginning of time to the end of time (which-by the way-is nonexistent), Jesus has been and will be the center.

Not us.

It’s easy to live as if it’s all about me. When I wake up and open my Bible, I look for the scriptures that apply to my life. When I get dressed, I pick the outfit that I think makes me look good. When I go to work, I think about how it is benefitting me and my bank account. When I do my school work, I think about how it will better my future. When I write, I think about how I can show off my abilities. Even when I reach out in love, I am thinking about what’s in it for me.

I have been on the wrong track.

You see, it’s not about me or you. It’s not about our gifts, talents, emotions, problems, etc. It’s not about how we can be comfortable, successful, or prosperous. Turn on the TV, and you will see that life is not about you.

Not one bit.

We were not put here on this earth to please ourselves. We were not meant to win the most prizes, sell the most books, make the most money, or receive the most praise.

We were meant to glorify God with our lives and to do that, we have to lose the “me” and gain the “Him”.

It’s all about Jesus.

When I first started this blog, I was a little “me centered”. I thought that my experiences would be able to help people out. I thought that somehow through my words, I could “save” someone from their struggle. I thought that I had all the knowledge and all the answers.

Then God threw some curve balls my way. He got in the middle of all my plans and redrew the map according to His purposes. And because of that, I am reaching people I could have never reached before. Because of His interruption, there are girls and women coming to learn about Him and His truths instead of me and my truths.

And for the record, it is so much better that way.

It’s humbling-isn’t it?- to learn that it really isn’t about you. It’s a little uncomfortable. It’s a little eye opening.

But it’s a lot transforming.

The moment you realize that this life is not about you and me is the moment you truly start living. It’s the moment you see people for what they are: broken people in need of the one, true Savior. It’s the moment you see that you can do nothing but point to Him. It’s the moment you acknowledge that others are more important than yourself here on this earth.

Today challenge the “me centered” thinking. Pray that God will open your eyes to the plight of the broken around you. Reach out and love on somebody today, without expecting anything in return. It’s not about you, and when you realize that, the chains attached to your love fall off.

Now you can love with no strings attached… the way it was always meant to be.

Verse: “In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.” (Matthew 5:16) 

 

Leave a Reply

