Day Seventy-Six: You Choose

Today’s change is a little bit different. Today you hold the cards. 

I’m not going to tell you what to do today. I’m not going to tell you ways to “change beauty”. I’m not going to challenge you to go against the culture, and I’m not going to spoon feed truth into your lives. 

Today’s choice is all up to you. 

Over the past seventy six days or so, I’ve realized something that deeply disturbs me and deeply relieves me: I can’t save anyone. I can tell you the truth. I can challenge you to make those changes in your life. I can even be there for you to listen, pray, and encourage. 

But I can’t change you. That’s between you and God. 

There is a freedom in that, yet there is also a huge burden. I’m relieved of the pressure to act as the spiritual firefighter, but I am grieved by that reality. 

It’s hard to watch people hear the truth and turn away. It’s hard to see people struggle day-in and day-out. It’s hard for me to talk to people with eating disorders and hear them say they’re fine the way they are. It’s hard to watch people literally die in front of your eyes, knowing that you can point them to the answer. 

It’s hard to watch people walk away from freedom. 

Sometimes I question God’s calling. “God,” I ask. “Couldn’t I have just recovered and moved on with my life? Why must I feel this tremendous burden for these people? Why must I sit here and watch these struggles? It would be so much easier to move on with my life and forget my past. Please, let someone else step up to this challenge.” 

And then I realize that this is not about me and my comfort. It’s about God and His freedom. It’s about “proclaiming freedom for the captives”. It’s about giving away so that someone else can gain. It’s about laying the truth out on the table and letting the people choose. 

So today the choice lies with you. It’s a wild card kind of day. Come up with your own challenge, something that is personal to you. We all have our own struggles with beauty. You have struggles that I don’t have and vice-versa. Make your own change today because without your involvement, change will never be made. 

I invite you to post your change for today in the comments below. Share as little or as much as you want. To make it easier for you to be free with your thoughts, I’ve disabled the email and name requirement on the comment section. Just type Anonymous in the name box. 

Let’s talk about beauty and the struggles that come along with it. 

Verse: “I revealed myself to those who did not ask for me; I was found by those who did not seek me. To a nation that did not call on my name, I said, “Here am I, here am I.” (Isaiah 65:1)

Leave a Reply

