Day Seventy-Seven: Challenge Your Standards

It’s hard to believe that you are beautiful. It’s hard to look in the mirror and actually like what you see. It’s hard to listen to the truth when the lie is staring you right in the face. 

Believe me, I know. 

When I watch TV, I am fully aware of all the ways I come up short. When I glance through a magazine, I am assaulted with images of picture-perfect models that push the “Jealousy” button. When I am around certain women, I realize that I still have many, many insecurities. 

Those are the moments that make me realize I need to change my standards of beauty. 

We all have standards. We all live by “rules” of what is beautiful and what is not. My standards are different than yours. Your standards are different than mine. 

But they still need to change. 

In order to live a healthy life (one not wrapped up in self-misery), we have to change our standards of what beauty is to each and every one of us. If your standards sound like any of the following, it might be time for some readjusting. 

Top Ten Common Misconceptions About Beauty

1. I am only beautiful when the number on the scale reads                 

2. I am only beautiful when I wear a                  .

3. I am only beautiful when someone compliments me. (And when they do finally compliment me, I am only as beautiful as the number of compliments I receive after that). 

4. I am only beautiful when I look like so-and-so. 

5. I am only beautiful when I look in the mirror and like everything I see. 

6. I am only beautiful when I have a boyfriend. (And if I don’t have a boyfriend, husband, etc. I am obviously not beautiful.)

7. I am only beautiful when the wrinkles disappear, the acne goes away, and the imperfections cease to be there. 

8. I am only beautiful when I am in a room full of “un-beautiful” people.

9. I am only beautiful when everything is put together just-so. 

10. I am only beautiful if someone tells me I’m beautiful…today. 

These are some of my standards. These are the lies I cling to in those insecure moments. 

These are not the true definitions of beauty. Not even close. 

Today I am reworking my truths. Today I am challenging those definitions one by one and aligning them with what I know is to be true. Today I am choosing to believe that I am beautiful. 

And with that choice, all these standards go flying out the window.

Leave a Reply

