Day Seventy-Eight: You Can’t Change on Your Own

I was frustrated. 

As I looked into the mirror that morning, my only thoughts were negative. I hated everything I saw. I hated the way I never seemed to measure up. I hated seeing an imperfect reflection in the glass. I hated the me I faced. 

I was frustrated and tired of trying to change. I had done everything in the book, but there was still no change. I still hated what I saw every time I looked in the glass. 

“What’s the point of trying to change when all your efforts come down to NOTHING?!?”

I have asked this question so many times. I have camped on this question so many times. In fact, I have let this question determine my attitude far too many times to count. 

It’s easy to get discouraged, isn’t it? When you are faced with the same old junk day-in and day-out, it can be hard to keep up a good attitude. It’s hard to believe in change when you still face your struggles, even after  you’ve tried all the methods, memorized all the scriptures, and thrown out all the magazines.

Believe me, I know. I know what it’s like to say, “Forget it.” I know what it’s like to want to throw in the towel because you see no progress. I know what it’s like to work and work and work for nothing. I know, it’s hard. 

But I also know this: You can work for change all you want, but until you give it to God, nothing will change. You can make the best efforts. You can memorize the most verses. You can cut off every obstacle in your life, but until you give it to God and allow Him to change you, all that work will result in nothing. 

Absolutely nothing. 

You can’t do it on your own. You can try, but I guarantee that you will only be left more frustrated and defeated. 

So why not give it to God? Why not let Him change you? 

If you truly aren’t seeing change, you have nothing to lose by giving it to God. Give Him those thoughts that never seem to go away. Give Him your efforts. Give Him your worries, your fears, and your frustrations. Give Him your life, and He will work it out for His glory. 

That’s a promise. 

God will not leave you there, my friend. He’s there to pick up the pieces of all your effort… you just have to let Him. 

Verse: “Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” (2 Corinthians 12:8-10)

 

Leave a Reply

