Day Seventy-Nine: Turn It Around

I don’t remember the first time I felt “un-beautiful”. 

There wasn’t a lightning bolt moment that destined me to years and years of feeling unworthy. There wasn’t a big blow-out.

There was just a moment when I realized that I wasn’t as pretty as some of the other girls. 

Most of us don’t have huge, momentous “un-beautiful” moments. We can’t pinpoint the exact moment we started believing the lie. We can’t pinpoint why we started believing the lie. All we can do is tell you the moment we remember living by the lie instead of by the truth. 

The lie walked through the doors of my mind in elementary school, and there it has stayed ever since. It never graduated. It never dropped out. It stayed, like the school custodian of 20 years. 

And it pestered. Oh, did it pester! 

The lie has been the same through the years: “You’re not pretty…no one will ever like you…you won’t go far in life with a face like that…you’ll never be good enough…thin enough…pretty enough…” 

And so the story goes. 

I still hear the lie. Sometimes I still listen to the lie. 

And something tells me you do to. 

The other day I started getting really frustrated with Mr. Lie. I mean, I was really angry. I was tired of always competing with every girl that came across my path. I was tired of having to please the mirror, every second of every day. I was tired of never feeling good enough to do anything, and I just wanted him to go away. 

But I didn’t know how to do that. 

Isn’t it crazy how quickly we can forget the skills we’ve learned? All the verses in my head seemed to disappear in the face of the lie. All the truth seemed to temporarily take a vacation from my head. 

I was left feeling ugly, frustrated, and defeated. 

I’ll even admit, I stayed that way for a couple of days. 

Then I just got so sick of the lie that I had to do something. I took my weapon and fought back. The first arrow didn’t seem to penetrate Mr. Lie’s armor, but I kept on shooting. And shooting. And shooting. 

Let me tell you, it was a war zone in my mind. 

Here’s the thing that surprised me at the end of the day: Mr. Lie did not go away. At the end of the battle, he was still standing there in front of me, with that same ‘ole sneer on his face. He still flung the lies straight at me. 

Only this time he had no power over me. 

You see, when you start to use scripture to turn those lies around, the lies don’t go away. They’re still there. They still come after you. They still pester you. They just don’t have any power over you. 

Today I challenge you to turn those lies around. Search for the truth in your weapon bag. Get out your bible (the one you may not have used in years), and start stockpiling up your weapons. Turn around every lie. Yes, each and every one of them. When you can’t find the truth and it seems like God is being silent, keep looking. I promise, He’s given us the arrow for every battle we will ever face. 

We just have to look for it. 

Verse: “For though we live in the world, we do not wage war as the world does. The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds. We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” (2 Corinthians 10:3-5)

Leave a Reply

