Day Eighty: Free to Be You

“Free to Be Me”. 

That’s what my shirt says this morning. That’s what my Bible says this morning. 

That is not how I feel this morning. 

I know the facts. Jesus loves me the way I am. God created me just the way He wanted me. The people who truly love me will love me no matter what. 

But sometimes that’s just not enough. Sometimes I want everyone to like me. Sometimes (just sometimes) I want everyone to embrace this “me” God made. 

Ok, I lied… I want it all the time. 

It’s hard to be yourself in a world full of so many “somebody-elses”, isn’t it? It’s hard to believe  you matter when the other girl is the one walking across the stage accepting that award. It’s hard to believe you’re beautiful when you still sit on the sidelines and watch all your friends go from boyfriend to boyfriend to boyfriend. It’s hard to believe you’re worth anything when it seems like everyone glosses over you like the ad on a magazine page. It’s hard to believe you’re special when you feel invisible. 

It’s hard, I know. 

There are moments I would give anything to be somebody else. Someone who is seen. Someone who is noticed. Someone who seems to have it all-together. Someone who truly makes a difference in the lives of everyone around them. 

I’m not that someone, though. I don’t look like her. I don’t act like her. I’m not published like her. And I definitely don’t speak like her. 

But I was never meant to be her. I was meant to be me. 

Here’s the truth: you were meant to be you, no matter how you feel. You were meant to make your own difference and live your own life. You were never meant to look like her, act like her, and do the same things as her. If you were, you would be her. 

But you’re not. You are you. Individual, unique, and beautiful-just-the-way-you-are “you”. 

Don’t change that. Don’t even wish you could change that. There is a purpose for your life, even though you may not see it right now. There is a reason you are the way you are. There is a plan. A great, big, glorious plan with your name on it. 

Today as we wrap up this 1-80 Challenge, I pray that you embrace the “you” God created. I pray that you will rest in the knowledge that you are a chosen daughter of the King. I pray that you will ignore the pressures of beauty from the outside and listen to the only voice that matters. 

That voice is telling you that you are beautiful, just the way you are. 

Verse: “But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people belonging to God, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.” (1 Peter 2:9)

 

 

Leave a Reply

