I’m Really Just Not Worth It

The biggest problem among girls and women today is not addiction. It’s not even worldliness or moodiness.

It’s our perceived lack of value that creates the biggest issues in our lives.

Addiction doesn’t stem from nowhere; it has to start with something. And-unfortunately- that something is usually related to how much value we think we have.

Or don’t have.

The truth is, most of us- addictions or not- don’t believe that we’re really all that valuable. We throw ourselves away for relationships, success, fame, money… really, the list is endless. We pursue these things (these ideals) in life so that at the end of the day we can feel more valuable.

Only the sense of value never comes.

The gaping hole just gets bigger and bigger, and pretty soon we need to do more and more to feel like we are “worth it”. It’s an endless cycle that reinforces the belief that we will never amount to anything of value. Pretty soon our “normal” lives transform into lives that are chasing worth. Some of us move from man to man. Some of us move from addiction to addiction. Some of us sit in the feeling of despair until the hopelessness of the situation causes us to take action.

In a negative way.

It’s not a “self-esteem” problem; it’s a truth problem. We don’t know the truth. We don’t know our value. We don’t know our purpose… so we try to create our own. We try to form our own worth from the sand of this world, and we are somehow surprised when it all sifts back to nothing.

Here’s truth: you have worth and value (and not because the world says so). You are valuable because God created you. You are valuable because Christ died for you. You are valuable because you have God’s Spirit living inside of you. No matter what you’ve done in the past. No matter what kind of person you were before today. No matter what you’ve done, what you are, and what you are going to do, you have value and worth beyond measure.

There are so many times I react with “I’m just not worth it”. I list the ways I’ve screwed up. I tally off the number of times I’ve steered off course and made mistakes. I write my flaws on the wall for the world to see, and I stand back and say, “There’s truth.” There are so many times I doubt God’s love for me because of my past and my failures.

But in those moments when I desperately cry, “Look at all I’ve done!”, He gently reminds me: “No, look at all I’ve done.”

He’s wiped my sins away. He’s painted over the walls proclaiming my lack of worth. He’s erased my lists of failures. He’s bandaged the self-inflicted wounds and has traded His blood for mine.

And He’s done the same for you. Nothing in your past, present or future disqualifies you from God’s love. All you have to do is receive it. Cling to it. Trust in it. Rest in it.

He places so much value on your life. More than you will ever know.

Romans 5:8 says, “But God demonstrates His own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” It’s hard to love a person who doesn’t love you back- isn’t it? But this is exactly what God did. While we were still chasing love from this world, Christ died for us. He died so that we would know of the love God has for us. He died so we would know of our value. He died while we did everything imaginable to defame His name.

Yet He still did it. He still loved us.

Romans 8:14 calls us “sons of God”. Romans 8:17 names us “heirs” to His throne. Ephesians 1:5 says we are His “adopted” sons and daughters.

That’s love. Imagine the love a parent feels for his or her child and times that by a million.

That’s God’s love for you. That’s the worth He places on you. That’s the truth of the matter.

Christ died for you. That is what this Christmas season is all about. It’s not merely another celebration of a human birth; it’s an all-out celebration of the birth of the One who came so you could have worth. He was born so He could die. He was hated so you could be loved.

Jesus is not about condemning. He didn’t come to give us a list of all that we should and should not do. He came, He lived, He died so you and I would know- beyond a shadow of a doubt- that we are loved.

And you are loved, my friend. So deeply loved and so deeply valued, and NOTHING can take that away from you.

2 thoughts on “I’m Really Just Not Worth It

  1. So true! Thank you for putting it so well! It reminds me of one of my new favorite quotes: “To believe, and to consent to be loved while unworthy, is the great secret.” Wm. R. Newell

Leave a Reply

