Early Morning

“Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” ~Lamentations 3:22, 23

One of my favorite things in life are sunrises. The simplicity intrigues me. The predictability fascinates me, and the beauty mesmerizes me. On the very rare occasion that I am up when the sun makes its debut for the day, I like to sit on the windowsill-coffee in hand-and watch everything around me “wake up”.

I love the predictability of the sun. It rises every morning, and it sets every night… no exception. It’s dependable, reliable, and a much needed constant in this crazy, crazy world. Right now in life, I need predictability. I need stability. I need the sun’s reminder every morning and every night. I need to know that there is something in life that won’t get up and leave.

In those moments of panic when circumstances or relationships don’t work out the way I expect them to, it’s hard to remember that God’s in control. When I feel abandoned and alone in life, I forget about His faithfulness. I forget His never-ending love and compassion. I forget that His mercies are new EVERY morning. When I make mistake after mistake and end up in mess after mess, I forget that there is a thing called forgiveness. When I fail to see past the havoc I’ve wreaked, I forget about that little thing called mercy .

But just because I forget it doesn’t mean He’s not there. My inability to move past my failings does not mean that God holds it against me forever. My own view of myself is nothing like the view God holds of me… if only I would remember that.

So it’s in those moments-right before the sun is about to peak across the skyline- that I am reminded of His presence, His faithfulness, and His mercy.

And that’s something I can count on every morning. No matter what.

One thought on “Early Morning

Leave a Reply

